My Quilts

May 31, 2008 at 12:51 pm 2 comments

I just got a new quilt while I was home for Memorial Day weekend. I took some pictures of it, as requested by the ladies at work. While I was getting ready to post the pictures I realized that I have never taken pictures of our wedding quilt.

Here is the first quilt. At Brian and I’s wedding we had the guests sign red fabric hearts. In the following months my grandma made a quilt using the hearts.

This is the signature from my mom and dad’s heart. If you look close you can see the hand stitching by my grandma.

If you look REALLY closely you can see the hand quilted heart design by my grandma.

This is the quilt that I got over the weekend.

This was started by my paternal great grandma.

Then was worked on by my paternal grandma.

Then lately my maternal grandma has started to finish the quilts that had been started long ago. She is currently working on another that is a double wedding ring for my sister. After that there are two more that need finished.

My sister did the tying.

Now I want to hand quilt it. Of course I have never hand quilted and don’t really know what I’m doing or have the needed equipment. I’ve been reading about quilting. Now I just need to pick a design and buy some equipment. Any tips from seasoned quilters out there? I would also like to add a patch to the back with our names, maybe in a family tree type of design.

Oh, does anyone know the name of this quilt design?

Entry filed under: Crafts, Family, Home, Photography. Tags: , , , , , .

My first photography shoot Stolen

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Judy  |  May 31, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    What treasures!
    I enjoyed seeing your quilts…am glad I happened upon your blog.

    Reply
  • 2. Melissa  |  June 8, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Just a note to myself that this pattern is the Dresden Plate.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 87,550 hits

