Planting Season

April 6, 2008 at 10:19 am 2 comments

I planted some seeds today. Last year was the first year that I managed to keep any plants alive. I don’t really keep plants in the house because our cats eat them. I am however considering getting some orchids that I would keep out of their reach. I really miss having our deck, but I’m going to make the best of it. Our deck and outside area in this house face South and the sun is blocked by the building next door, so it is in the shade all day.  I’ve had to be creative about where I’m going to put my plants. Thankfully we have windows that face the north east where they will get lots of sun and I can put pots out onto the roof.

Kitchen Window

This is a view out of our kitchen window. There’s one more pot off to the left that isn’t in this picture. So far out this window in the blue pots are herbs. Basil, oregano, chives, parsley, and thyme. I have a couple more blue pots like these to fill when I buy some more seed. The large pot has two kinds of chives, thyme, and viola flowers. The other pot outside of the picture has merigolds in it. I still want to get a few more fruit and vegetable plants to put out here. I’m thinking about a mini blueberry bush, strawberries, jalepenio peppers, and maybe a mini tomato plant.

Bedroom Window

This is a view out of our guest bedroom/my craft room. I don’t have anywhere to place the hanging basket that would be in the sun, so it’s on the roof too.  This picture makes the basket look really tiny, but it’s actually pretty big.  I put purple petunias and white verbena in it. The ceramic pot with the white flower painted on it has periwinkle in it. The blue pot has daisies in, and the rectangular pot has morning glory seeds in it.

I still need to buy seeds to plant outside the front door that will be in the shade. All of the seeds except for our herbs were taken from the plants I had last year. I can’t wait for them to sprout!! The one problem is keeping the animals from escaping onto the roof while I have the windows open. One cat already went onto the roof and Brian had to go out after it. I have to run, we’re going to watch my cousin play in Ohio State’s baseball game today.

Entry filed under: gardening, Home. Tags: , , , , , .

Happy Birthday Dad and uncle Don! Gardening is in my blood.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hanlie  |  April 6, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    I want to get some herbs into pots again. I killed the last lot, but maybe this time I’ll succeed!

    Reply
  • 2. destin3g99  |  April 6, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    I haven’t grown herbs in several years either. I killed the last batch too. Hopefully they will do better this time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 87,550 hits

