Smells like Grandma’s House

November 30, 2007 at 10:43 am Leave a comment

Grandma

Isn’t it amazing how a smell can remind you so much of a person, place, or time in your life? I made dressing last night and as soon as I opened the loaf of white bread I thought of my grandma. She is such an amazing cook. Even Cracker Barrel doesn’t match her food. I think part of the trick is that she still cooks with lard. Soooo fattening I know, but she’s in her mid 80’s and still kickin’. Every Sunday my grandma made a lunch equal to most family’s Thanksgiving feasts. Some sort of meat, turkey, chicken, roast beef. Noodles, mashed potatoes, dressing, green beans, corn. Then either apple cobble, chocolate pie, banana pudding. YUM!! It’s a good thing I didn’t eat there every day! This Christmas one of my projects is to make a cookbook for everyone in my family with grandma’s recipes in it. Of course Grandma doesn’t have recipes, she just throws stuff together with out measuring, so this was harder than it seems. My sister helped out with this project by sitting down with grandma and having her list of all of the ingredients in each dish. I have everything typed up, I just need to get it all printed and into a book. Each page has a family picture on it too. I can’t wait to see the finished project!Grandma and I making noodles.

Update: Yeah, these didn’t get finished this year.  I guess I have all year to work on them for next Christmas huh?


Entry filed under: Family, Food.

Job Search Frustration Job Search Update

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 87,550 hits

