These shoes were made for walkin’!

November 13, 2007 at 7:48 pm Leave a comment

I just read a study that showed that the average nurse walks 5 miles per 12 hour shift, and that doesn’t even count the time spent on our feet that we are standing still. I’m usually lucky to sit down long enough to pee, let alone give my feet a rest. I would guess that in an average 12 hour shift for me I might get to sit down for 45 minutes total. I almost never take the entire lunch break that I’m allowed. I know that when I get home and take my shoes off my feet are killing me. Even this morning after sleeping for around 10 hours last night it still hurt to walk when I woke up. Don’t even ask what my feet felt like after a 17 hour shift a couple weeks ago. A HUGE thank you to my mom who would work a 12 hour shift and then come to watch us cheer, dance, run, or whatever depending on the time of year. I know all I want to do at the end of the day is kick off my shoes and crash in front of the TV hoping that nobody can smell my poor, tired, stinky feet! I think they’re deserving of a pedicure soon! So, if you love a nurse, buy her a pedicure this holiday season! (hint! hint!)

My Shoes.

Entry filed under: nursing.

Making a difference 2008 Olympics

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 87,550 hits

