Dude, Share The Food!

December 1, 2008 at 12:02 am 2 comments

This week was our church’s service Sunday.  We didn’t have a church service this week and instead spent the day serving.  We all headed to church somewhere else (where Eric, founder of Dude, Share the Food works).  After service our crew and about 10 people from the other church started making sack lunches.

dsc_4452

Packing cookies into ziplock baggies

dsc_4454 Packing chips (what the crew calls “salties” into baggies

dsc_44552Making sandwiches

dsc_4456Brewing hot coffee for the people outside on the cold, wet day.

dsc_4459Filling the brown paper bags with fruit, cookies, “salties” sandwiches, and condiments.

After getting what I guess to be around 200 sack lunches made up and everything packed into the trucks we headed to downtown Atlanta.  We spent the next three or four hours passing out lunches, hot coffee, and water at a few different locations and a few out of the cars windows as we saw people while driving.  I even jumped out of the car at a couple of red lights.

dsc_4463

Eric hanging out with a guy he has been able to build a relationship with over the past year and a half since starting Dude, Share the Food.

dsc_4464Handing out some lunches and warm clothes to these guys.  What is amazing, we were in an older part of town with huge beautiful homes, probably worth 100’s of thousands of dollars, people walked on the sidewalks with bags from stores and went into the pub across the street for lunch.  But the streets were littered with homeless that with our self consuming vision we all fail to see every day.  I wouldn’t have seen them if I hadn’t been looking for them.

dsc_44651Enjoying their hot coffee and lunch.  The guy on the left was pretty much blind.  When he came over I offered him a sack lunch and handed it toward him.  He just stood there and didn’t take it.  He had no idea that I was talking to him, let a lone that there was a sack lunch being offered.  He depended completely on his buddy to guide him through life.

dsc_4468

I’m so blessed and spoiled, and don’t appreciate it!  Today made me think of all of the times I’ve driven by a homeless person and kept my eyes purposefully fixed ahead, because I thought I “couldn’t” help.  Every day while I was in nursing school I drove past the same man, on the same corner asking for help.  How come I never thought to make up a sack lunch to hand him while I waited at a red light?  I know why, because as soon as I drove past him I never thought of him again until the next day.

When Brian and I lived in Cincinnati there was a homeless man who went through our trash every week on trash day.  He pulled out all of the metal he could find through the neighborhood then sold it to the scrap metal factory.  This man usually had several huge trash bags full of cans every week and had on nice new clothes and work boots.  But I NEVER, NEVER thought to offer him a cup of hot coffee or some food.  Yep, I’m a spoiled loser.

I know I’m not the only one.  It’s so easy to get out and help others, it usually doesn’t cost much, or take much time.  The hard part, is taking the focus off of ourselves and our busy schedules and seeing the people around us who are hurting.  Maybe you can start by doing one simple thing.  Make up a sack lunch.  Make it PB&J so it can sit in your car for a day or two.  When you see someone standing on the corner, pushing their shopping cart, where ever they are, just hand it to them.  How hard is that?

Matthew 25:35

I was hungry and you fed me,
I was thirsty and you gave me a drink,
I was homeless and you gave me a room,
I was shivering and you gave me clothes,
I was sick and you stopped to visit,
I was in prison and you came to me.

Oh, and check out Dude, Share the Food! If you click on “What Does It Mean” you can see a video.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

There’s a bun in the oven! I have a brother!

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

My Pics

Angie & Brandon 33

Angie & Brandon 32

Angie & Brandon 31

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 86,382 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

